New Hampshire
Secretary of State

Administration Division

Administration

Ethics Miscellaneous

Apostilles and Certificates

Athlete Agents

Auctioneers

Bonded Warehouses

Commissioner of Deeds

Hawker & Peddler

Itinerant Vendors

Justice of the Peace

Notary Public

Petroleum Sales Contract

Special Marriage license

Executive Branch Ethics RSA 21-G:24

Financial Interests RSA 15-A and 12-G

Honorariums and Expense Reports – RSA 15-B and 14-C

Lobbyists

Lobbyist Financial Reports

Congressional Delegation

Executive Orders

Governor & Executive Council

New Hampshire Canadian Trade Council

NH Constitution

Administration Division Applications and Forms

Contact

Notices and Press Releases

 

Contact Administration for information regarding apostilles/certificates, athlete agents, auctioneers, ballot law commission, commissioner of deeds, notaries public, justices of the peace, governor and council, hawker & peddler licenses, itinerant vendors, lobbyists and special marriage licenses.

Secretary of State's Office - Administration
Phone: 603-271-3242
Fax: 603-271-6316
Email: Administration@sos.nh.gov

Location and Mailing address:
N.H. Department of State
State House, Room 204
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301-4989

TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964

facebook logo

Apostilles and Certificates

REQUIREMENTS

  • Many documents which are being filed out of this country for adoptions, education, relocations, etc. require an apostille or certification of the Notary Public or Justice of the Peace signature. 
  • Each document must have an original New Hampshire Notary Public or Justice of the Peace signature witnessing the signature of the author of the document.  If signed by a notary, the notary's seal must be included in order to be certified by this office.  Please make sure your documents are notarized before bringing them to the Secretary of State's Office The signatures must be those of a Notary Public or Justice of the Peace for the State of New Hampshire. 
  • This office cannot certify signatures of town and city clerks, county or state registrars or other state officials.   
  • A $10.00 fee per apostille or certificate is charged.  This may be paid in cash or check made payable to the State of New Hampshire.  In addition, an expedited fee shall be charged if IMMEDIATE (SAME DAY) service is requested.  The expedited fee of $25.00 will be charged for every 10 or more documents submitted for certification, and an additional $25.00 will be charged for every additional ten documents.  
  • Documents hand carried to the Secretary of State's Office will be accepted between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. The office is located in the State House - Room 204 at 107 North Main Street in Concord, New Hampshire.Our phone number is 603-271-3242 
  • Documents mailed to the office should be accompanied by a letter indicating what country the document is going to, a check in the correct amount, and a self-addressed postage-page envelope for returning the document to you. Also, we request that you include a phone number where you may be reached should we have any questions. Click here for a form that you can fill out on line and print for this purpose. 
  • Mailing address: Secretary of State's Office, 107 North Main Street, Room 204, Concord, N.H. 03301

    Some countries are part of THE HAGUE CONVENTION and require APOSTILLES on documents which are going to be filed in their countries. A listing of countries belonging to The Hague Convention, as well as in-depth information on what the Hague Legalization Convention is all about can be found here.

Documents going to countries NOT listed as members of the Hague Convention will usually require a regular certificate of the notary public or justice of the peace.

PLEASE NOTE: NO FOREIGN CURRENCY WILL BE ACCEPTED

CERTIFIED COPIES OF VITAL RECORDS

RSA 5-C:98 Vital Records Copies.

I. A vital record may NOT be issued, duplicated, sealed, or notarized by any persons other than the division of vital records or clerks of towns and cities. These restrictions shall not apply to vital records in the public domain unless a certified copy is requested.

II. Certified copies of vital records shall be issued to the public only by the state registrar of vital records or a clerk of a town or city in accordance with this chapter.

RSA 5-C:99 Apostille Records. An apostille record means a vital record document which contains the certification as provided for in the 1961 Hague Convention and which is recognized in the United States and other certifying countries as a certified document. An apostille record shall be prepared in the same manner as required for a certified copy and shall contain the following: the signature of the state registrar or the clerk of the town or city; the notarized acknowledgement of the state registrar or clerk and acknowledgement of the document by the New Hampshire secretary of state, including his or her signature and seal.

The Secretary of State's Office will NOT put an apostille on a vital record if it is not submitted in the proper form as stated above.

Athlete Agents

Auctioneers

New Hampshire Board of Auctioneers

Agendas


Apprenticeship Affidavit


Auction Schools


Board Meeting Schedule


Bond Sample


Complaint Form


Contact Information


Declaratory Rulings


Exam Information


Licensees


Licensure & Conduct Affidavit


Members of the Board


Minutes 2001-2010


Minutes 2011-2020


Minutes 2021-2030


New Application


Newsletters


Reciprocal States


Recommendation Form


Renewal Application


RSA's and Rules


Board of Claims

 

- Notice:
Board of Claims Meeting - 9:00 a.m. on August 28, 2020
Location:  State Archives Building, 9 Ratification Way, Concord NH 03301
Click here for Agenda

- Members:
•Honorable Kenneth Brown, Chairman

•Attorney Noah Abrahams, Clerk

•Senator Shannon Chandley, Member

•Representative Donne Mombourquette, Member

•Attorney Eric Forcier, Member


- Staff:
•Melissa Dudley, Secretary


- Contact Info:
New Hampshire Board of Claims
107 N. Main Street, Rm. 204
Concord, NH 03301

Tel: (603) 271-3242
Email: boardofclaims@sos.nh.gov

- Laws and Rules 

Bonded Warehouses

RSA 348:1 Licenses. Any person, firm or corporation having a place of business within the state, who keeps and maintains for hire a warehouse for the storage of goods, wares and merchandise of persons, firms or corporations shall be a public warehouseman. A public warehouseman shall obtain an annual license from the Secretary of State. The fee for such license shall be fifty Dollars ($50.00). Whoever violates any provision of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

RSA 348:2 Bond. He shall give bond to the state for the faithful performance of his duties, in an amount and with sureties to be approved by the governor, and may appoint one or more deputies, for whose acts he shall be responsible.

Click here for a full copy of RSA 348

Bonded Warehouse application

Commissioner of Deeds

COMMISSIONER OF DEEDS LAW - RSA 455:12

The Notary Public and Justice of the Peace Manual is available on-line or by contacting the Secretary of State's Office at 603-271-3242

REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION

  • Applicants are not residents of New Hampshire.
  • The fee is $75 for a 5-year commission.

PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING

  • The application is obtained from the Secretary of State’s Office. You may request an application the following ways: Call 271-3242 OR mail your request in writing to the Secretary of State’s Office, 107 North Main Street, State House Room 204, Concord, N.H. 03301 OR email your request to administration@sos.nh.gov OR download the APPLICATION.
  • Complete the application and return it to the Secretary of State’s Office with the $75 fee.
  • Your request will be treated as follows:
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for nomination.
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for appointment.
  • This process will take 4-6 weeks.

AFTER COMMISSIONED BY GOVERNOR AND EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

  • Your appointment as a commissioner of deeds will be for 5 years from the date the Governor and Council confirms your appointment. The date of appointment will be indicated on your commission.
  • Within a week after appointment, you will receive your commission, oath, Notary Public Manual and other information from the Secretary of State’s Office.

You must:

  • Sign and take your oath of office before a judge of some court of record. The judge should sign your commission as well.
  • Return the oath to the Secretary of State’s Office as soon as possible. Unless we have your oath on file, we cannot certify that you are qualified as a commissioner of deeds.
  • Keep the commission for your records.

POWERS OF A COMMISSIONER OF DEEDS

Every Commissioner of Deeds shall have the power to:  

  • Administer oaths, both in and out of New Hampshire for documents that will be used in New Hampshire.
  • Take depositions and affidavits to be used in New Hampshire.
  • Take acknowledgements of deeds or instruments to be used or recorded in New Hampshire in the same manner and with the same effect as a Justice of the Peace has in New Hampshire.

While RSA 455 does not require a Commissioner of Deeds to use a seal when making acknowledgements, RSA 456-B The Uniform Law on Notarial Acts does require the use of a seal. We recommend that when performing an act as a Commissioner of Deeds, you do so under your official seal.

A justice of the peace (commissioner of deeds) signing an acknowledgement or jurat on any document or instrument shall type, print, or stamp the name of the justice of the peace (commissioner of deeds) and state the expriation date of his or her commission on the document or instrument. However, failure to meet these requirements shall not impair the legal validity of any acknowledgement or jurat.

FEES

  • A fee of no more than $10.00 can be collected for each oath, witness, service or certification, except that:
  • For depositions, a fee of $5.00 but not more than $50.00 may be collected. The fee is based upon the amount that the commissioner feels is sufficient payment for his/her services. The commissioner is also entitled to .20/mile when traveling to swear in witnesses.
  • No fees are allowed for administering and certifying oaths of office of town officers.

HOW DO I RENEW MY COMMISSIONER OF DEEDS COMMISSION?

  • The renewal process is the same as the process you completed for your initial commission. You may download the renewal application, OR
  • A renewal application will be mailed to you approximately 3 months prior to the date your current commission is due to expire.
  • If you move during the 5 years of your commission (or change your name) and do not notify the Secretary of State’s Office, your renewal form will not reach you.

 

Hawker & Peddler

RSA 320:1 Definition. The terms "hawker" and "peddler" shall mean and include any person, as defined by RSA 358-A:1, either principal or agent, who:
I. Travels from town to town or from place to place in the same town selling or bartering or carrying for sale or barter or exposing therefor, any goods, wares, or merchandise, either on foot or from any animal, cart, or vehicle; or

II. Travels from town to town, or place to place in the same town, offering to perform personal services for household repairs or improvements, or solicits or induces any person to sign any contracts relating to household repairs and improvements, including contracts for the replacement or installation of siding on any residence or building; or

III. Keeps a regular place of business, open during regular business hours at the same location, but who offers for sale or sells and delivers, personally or through his agents, at a place other than his regular place of business, goods, wares or merchandise.

RSA 320:8 State Licenses.

I. Upon compliance with this section and upon payment of $50 for a state license, the Secretary of State may grant special state licenses. Applications for such licenses shall be made upon blanks prepared by the Secretary of State requiring such information regarding the applicant's character and qualifications as the Secretary shall deem pertinent.

II. Any person so licensed may do business as a hawker and peddler in any city or town in this state, provided the licensee complies with all local ordinances, bylaws and regulations, including those adopted under RSA 31:102-a. If an applicant, not a natural person, applies for a license under this chapter the sum of $5,000 deposited with the Secretary of State in cash or surety bond shall be required, and the employees or agents of such corporation shall remain effective for at least 60 days under the annual renewal date. All such agents or employees shall be permitted to apply for licenses under such cash payment or surety bond.

III. The annual license renewal fee shall be $50. At the time the renewal fee is submitted to the Secretary of State, the licensee shall:
(a) Update information pertaining to license, if necessary.
(b) Submit written proof that any surety bond required by paragraph II is in effect and will remain in effect as required in paragraph II.

Hawker and Peddler Application (New and Renewal)

Corporate Hawker and Peddler Application

RSA 320 - Hawker and Peddler Statute

Itinerant Vendors

RSA 321:1 Defined. -- For the purposes of this chapter, the words "itinerant vendors" mean all persons (as defined by RSA 358-A:1), both principals and agents, including those persons whose principal place of business is not in this state, who engage in a temporary or transient business in this state, either in one locality or traveling from place to place, selling goods, wares and merchandise, with a total value greater than $500, from stock or by sample for future delivery, and who, for the purposes of carrying on such business, hire or occupy a temporary place of business. A "temporary place of business" means any public or quasi-public place including, but not limited to, a hotel, motel, rooming house, storeroom, building, part of a building, tent, vacant lot, railroad car, or trailer temporarily occupied for the purpose of making retain sales of goods to the public.

 

| RSA Chapter 321 | Surety Bond | INDIVIDUAL Itinerant Vendor Application | COMPANY Itinerant Vendor Application |

Justice of the Peace

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE LAW - RSA 455-A and Uniform Law on Notarial Acts - RSA 456-B

The Notary Public and Justice of the Peace Manual is available on-line or by contacting the Secretary of State's Office at 603-271-3242

REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION

  • Every person applying to become a justice of the peace must be a resident of New Hampshire.
  • You must have been a registered voter in New Hampshire for at least 3 years immediately prior to the date of the application.
  • The applicant must sign a written statement under oath as to whether he/she has ever been convicted of a crime that has not been annulled by a court, other than minor traffic violations.
  • Two justices of the peace and one registered voter of New Hampshire must endorse the application for appointment.
  • The applicant must complete a Criminal Record Release Authorization Form.
  • The fee is $75 for a 5-year commission.

PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING

  • The application is obtained from the Secretary of State’s Office. You may request an application the following ways: Call 271-3242 OR mail your request in writing to the Secretary of State’s Office, 107 North Main Street, State House Room 204, Concord, N.H. 03301 OR email your request to administration@sos.nh.gov OR download the NEW APPLICATION . The Criminal Records Release Form is part of the application and MUST be submitted with the application.(For processing purposes, please print the application and criminal records form on two (2) pages. Do not print double-sided.) DO NOT use this form as a renewal. See below for renewal information.
  • Complete the application and the Criminal Record Release Authorization Form and return them both to the Secretary of State’s Office with the $75 fee.
  • Send the ORIGINAL forms. If you send a copy of either form, it will be returned.
    Your request will be treated as follows:
  • The Criminal Record Release Authorization Form will be submitted to the Department of Safety.
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for nomination.
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for appointment.
  • This process will take 8-10 weeks.

AFTER COMMISSIONED BY GOVERNOR AND EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

  • Your commission as a notary public will be for 5 years from the date the Governor and Council confirm your appointment. The date of appointment will be indicated on your commission.
  • Within a week after appointment, you will receive your commission, oath, Notary Public Manual and other information from the Secretary of State’s Office.

You must:

  • Sign and take your oath of office in the presence of two justices of the peace, or two notaries public, OR one notary public and one justice of the peace. Those who sign your oath should also sign your commission.
  • Return the oath to the Secretary of State’s Office as soon as possible. Unless we have your oath on file, we cannot certify that you are qualified as a notary.
  • Keep the commission for your records. 

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE SEAL

While RSA 455-A does not require a Justice of the Peace to use a seal when making acknowledgements, RSA 456-B The Uniform Law on Notarial acts does require the use of a seal. We recommend that when performing an act as a Justice of the Peace, you do so under your official seal.

A Justice of the Peace signing an acknowledgement or jurat on any document or instrument shall type, print, or stamp the name of the justice of the peace and state the expiration of his or her commission on the document or instrument. However, failure to meet these requirements shall not impair the legal validity of any acknowledgement or jurat.

POWERS OF A JUSTICE OF THE PEACE RSA 456-B

  • Acknowledgements
  • Oaths and affirmations
  • Jurats
  • Depositions
  • Copy Certifications
  • Witnessing or attesting signatures
  • Protests
  • Perform marriage ceremonies

FEES

  • A fee of no more than $10.00 can be collected for each oath, witness, service or certification, except that:
  • For depositions (RSA 517), a fee of $5.00 but not more than $50.00 may be collected. The fee is based upon the amount that the notary feels is sufficient payment for his/her services. The notary is also entitled to .20/mile when traveling to swear in witnesses.
  • No fees are allowed for administering and certifying oaths of office of town officers.

HOW DO I RENEW MY JUSTICE OF THE PEACE COMMISSION?

  • The renewal process is the same as the process you completed for your initial commission.
  • A renewal application will be mailed to you approximately 12 weeks prior to the date your current commission is due to expire. Renewal applications ARE NOT available on-line.
  • If you move during the 5 years of your commission (or change your name) and do not notify the Secretary of State’s Office, your renewal form will not reach you.

 

Notary Public

NOTARY PUBLIC LAW - RSA 455 and Uniform Law on Notarial Acts - RSA 456-B

The Notary Public and Justice of the Peace Manual is available on-line or by contacting the Secretary of State's Office at 603-271-3242

REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION

  • Every person applying to become a notary public must be a resident of New Hampshire (see new reciprocity law below).
  • You must be at least 18 years of age.
  • The applicant must sign a written statement under oath as to whether he/she has ever been convicted of a crime that has not been annulled by a court, other than minor traffic violations.
  • Two notaries public and one registered voter of New Hampshire must endorse the application for appointment.
  • The applicant must complete a Criminal Record Release Authorization Form.
    The fee is $75 for a 5-year commission.

PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING - The applications below are for New Hampshire residents ONLY 

  • The application is obtained from the Secretary of State’s Office. You may request an application the following ways: Call 271-3242 OR mail your request in writing to the Secretary of State’s Office, 107 North Main Street, State House Room 204, Concord, N.H. 03301 OR email your request to administration@sos.nh.gov OR download the NEW APPLICATION . The Criminal Record Release Authorization Form is part of the application and MUST be completed and submitted with the application. (For processing purposes, please print the application and criminal records form on two (2) pages. Do not print double-sided.) DO NOT use this form as a renewal. See below for renewal information.
  • Complete the application and the Criminal Record Release Authorization Form and return them both to the Secretary of State’s Office with the $75 fee.
  • Send the ORIGINAL forms. If you send a copy of either form, it will be returned.
    Your request will be treated as follows:
  • The Criminal Record Release Authorization Form will be submitted to the Department of Safety.
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for nomination.
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for appointment.
  • This process will take 8-10 weeks.

RECIPROCITY FOR NOTARIES IN ABUTTING STATES (not NH residents)

Effective August 4, 2019, a resident of an abutting state may apply to be commissioned as a Notary Public in New Hampshire under the following circumstances:

Qualification of applicant:

  • Must be a resident of Maine, Massachusetts or Vermont;
  • Must be regularly employed or carries on a trade, business, or practice in New Hampshire at the time of applying;
  • Must be a registered Notary Public in their home state.

Application forms to be submitted: The applications below are for OUT-OF-STATE residents ONLY 

  • Notary Public application for Maine, Massachusetts or Vermont resident;
  • Affidavit of Employment;
  • Criminal History Record for the State of New Hampshire;
  • Criminal History Record completed by the Department of Safety in your home state;
  • $75 application fee.

    AFTER COMMISSIONED BY GOVERNOR AND EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
  • Your commission as a notary public will be for 5 years from the date the Governor and Council confirm your appointment. The date of appointment will be indicated on your commission.
  • Within a week after appointment, you will receive your commission, oath, Notary Public Manual and other information from the Secretary of State’s Office.

You must:

  • Sign and take your oath of office in the presence of two justices of the peace, or two notaries public, OR one notary public and one justice of the peace. Those who sign your oath should also sign your commission.
  • Return the oath to the Secretary of State’s Office as soon as possible. Unless we have your oath on file, we cannot certify that you are qualified as a notary.
  • Keep the commission for your records. 

NOTARY SEAL

All acknowledgements made by you as a notary public shall be either under an official seal or an official rubber stamp.

  • The official seal shall have the following information printed on it: 
    • Name of the Notary
    • The words “Notary Public”
    • The words “New Hampshire”
    • A separate rubber stamp should carry the expiration date of the notary public’s commission.
  • The official rubber stamp shall have the following information printed on it:
    • Name of the Notary
    • The words “Notary Public”
    • The words “New Hampshire”
    • The expiration date of the notary public’s commission.

AUTHORIZED NOTARIAL ACTS (RSA 456-B)

  • Acknowledgements
  • Oaths and affirmations
  • Jurats
  • Depositions
  • Copy Certifications
  • Witnessing or attesting signatures
  • Protests

FEES

  • A fee of no more than $10.00 can be collected for each oath, witness, service or certification, except that:
  • For depositions (RSA 517), a fee of $5.00 but not more than $50.00 may be collected. The fee is based upon the amount that the notary feels is sufficient payment for his/her services. The notary is also entitled to .20/mile when traveling to swear in witnesses.
  • No fees are allowed for administering and certifying oaths of office of town officers.

HOW DO I RENEW MY NOTARY PUBLIC COMMISSION?

  • The renewal process is the same as the process you completed for your initial commission.
  • A renewal application will be mailed to you approximately 12 weeks prior to the date your current commission is due to expire. Renewal applications ARE NOT available on-line.
  • If you move during the 5 years of your commission (or change your name) and do not notify the Secretary of State’s Office, your renewal form will not reach you.

 

RECORDS

  • Although New Hampshire law does not require notaries to keep a journal of their notarial acts, it is recommended by the National Notary Association that you do so.

Petroleum Sales Contract

REGISTRATION FORM - due May 1st of every year

ANNUAL REPORT - due December 1st of every year

Registrations - 2020

A D and G Fuel Co. Inc.
Advanced Gas Distributors Inc.
Al's Plumbing Heating Fuels LLC
B and H Oil Company
Barrows and Fisher Oil Co. Inc
Bob's Fuel Company LLC
Bot-L-Gas Inc.
Brideau Oil Corporation
Brown, CN, Company
Cardinal & Glidden Oil Co., Inc.
Champagne's Energy Inc
Ciardelli Fuel Co. Inc.
City Fuel Company, Inc.
Clough, H.R., Inc
Cota & Cota Inc.
Crawford-Vogel & Wenzel Oil 
Davis Fuels of Epsom Inc
Davis Oil Company, Inc.
Dead River Company
Eastern Propane Gas, Inc.
Fielding's Oil Co. Inc.
Fitch Fuel Company, Inc.
Foley Oil Company Inc.
Frechette Oil
Gagnon, P. and Son, Inc.
Goodrich Oil Co Inc
HB Energy Solutions Inc.
Hartman, Andrew Inc.
Hartmann Oil Company
Hebert Fuel Co. LLC
Hinkley, R.E. Co. Inc.
Highlands Fuel Delivery LLC dba Irving Energy
Hometown Oil LLC
Huckleberry Propane and Oil LLC
Jam Fuel LLC
Just Oil LLC
Lamprey Energy a division of Palmer Gas Company Inc
Lavallee Oil Inc.
Murphy, Mike & Sons, Inc.
Palmer Gas Company, Inc.
Peters, A.W., Inc.
Prescott, Johnny & Son Oil Co. Inc.
Proulx Oil and Propane Service LLC
Putnam Fuel Co. Inc.
Red Brick Holdings Inc. dba Patten Energy
Richard, D.F., Energy
Rockingham Oil LLC
Sandri, A.R., Inc.
Simple Energy Partners LLC
Stafford Oil Company, Inc.
Stone Road Energy LLC dba Pemi River Fuels
Suburban Propane
Superior Plus Propane
Swanzey Oil LLC
Thomson Fuels LLC
Townsend Oil Co. Inc dba Halle Oil
Townsend Oil Co. Inc. dba Townsend Energy
Wenzel, Rick, Oil Company LLC
White Mountain Oil & Propane Inc



Annual Reports - 2020

A D & G Fuel Co. Inc.
Advanced Gas Distributors Inc.
Al's Plumbing Heating Fuels LLC
B and H Oil Company
Barrows & Fisher Oil Co
Bob's Fuel Company, Inc.
Bot-L-Gas Inc.
Cardinal & Glidden Oil Co. Inc.
Champagne's Energy, Inc.
Ciardelli Fuel Company, Inc.
City Fuel Company, Inc.
Clough, H.R., Inc.
Cota & Cota Inc.
Crawford-Vogel & Wenzel Oil
Davis Oil Company, Inc.
Dead River Company
Eastern Propane Gas Inc.
Fitch Fuel Company, Inc.
Frechette Oil
Gagnon, P. & Son, Inc.
HB Energy Solutions Inc
Hartmann, Andrew, Inc.
Highlands Fuel Delivery LLC  dba Irving Energy
Hometown Oil LLC
Huckleberry Propane and Oil LLC
Jam Fuel LLC
Lamprey Energy a division of Palmer Gas Company Inc
Lavallee Oil Inc.
Murphy, Mike & Sons, Inc.
Palmer Gas Company Inc.
Putnam Fuel Co. Inc. 
Red Brick Holdings dba Patten Energy
Rockingham Oil LLC
Sandri, A.R., Inc
Simple Energy Partners LLC
Stafford Oil Company, Inc.
Swanzey Oil LLC
Townsend Oil Co. Inc dba Halle Oil
Townsend Oil Co. Inc. dba Townsend Energy
Wenzel, Rick, Oil Company LLC
White Mountain Oil and Propane Inc
 

339:79 Requirements for Guaranteed Price Plans and Prepaid Contracts for Petroleum. –
I. A contract with a consumer that offers a guaranteed price plan, requires prepayment by the consumer, or similar contracts shall be in writing and shall disclose the terms and conditions of the plan. A solicitation for such a guaranteed price plan that could become a contract upon response from a consumer shall also be in writing with the terms and conditions disclosed in plain language.
II. A contract for the retail sale of home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas to a consumer shall also indicate the total amount of money to be paid by the consumer, the gallons committed by the fuel dealer to be delivered under the contract, the price per gallon, the payment terms, the duration of the contract, the remedies enforceable by the dealer against a non-performing consumer, and that the contract is secured as provided in this section. The information required by this section shall be in plain language and shall be printed in no less than 12-point boldface type of uniform font after the price of service described.
III. A contract that requires prepayment by the consumer shall comply with paragraphs I and II of this section. Such contract also:

  1. Shall not be advertised or solicited by the dealer in any manner to advertise, solicit, or promote the details of prepaid contracts being offered to consumers, nor shall the dealer solicit or promote pre-buy services independent of all the services offered by the dealer, earlier than May 1 or later than October 31 of the year in which the heating fuel season begins. Such contracts may be signed prior to May 1 only at the request of the consumer.
  2. Shall require dealers to reimburse consumers at the contract price for any undelivered pre-purchased fuel, within 30 days after the contract ends, unless the dealer and consumer agree to different terms.
  3. Shall include a clear explanation of the means by which the dealer will meet the obligations of the contract for the entire contract period, including supplier agreements, futures contracts, bonding, a line of credit or liquid product inventory.
  4. Shall not falsely claim coverage. Any dealer who falsely claims coverage or fails to maintain coverage until the completion of the contract shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor, in addition to other penalties as provided in paragraph VI. 

IV. No home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas dealer shall enter into a prepaid contract to provide home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas to a consumer unless that dealer has, within 7 days of the acceptance of the contract, obtained and maintained any one of the following: 

  • A firm commitment in the form of a futures contract or other commitment that guarantees that the dealer may purchase, at a fixed price, heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas in an amount not less than 75 percent of the maximum number of gallons that the dealer is committed to deliver pursuant to all prepaid contracts entered into by the dealer. The amount of such futures contract may be reduced to reflect any amount of home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas already delivered to and paid for by the consumer;
  • A surety bond, made payable to the attorney general, in an amount not less than 50 percent of the total amount of funds paid to the dealer by consumers pursuant to prepaid heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas contracts;
  • A letter of credit, made payable to the attorney general, from an FDIC-insured institution in an amount that represents 100 percent of the cost to the dealer of the maximum number of gallons that the dealer is committed to deliver pursuant to all prepaid contracts entered into by the dealer. The cost shall be calculated at the time the contracts are entered into; or
  • A liquid product inventory of home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas in an amount equal to 75 percent of the outstanding volume in gallons that the dealer is obligated to deliver under the terms of prepaid contracts in force.

V. Paragraph IV of this section shall not apply to budget plans under which consumers pay their yearly heating costs by making equal monthly payments.

  • A home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas dealer who offers prepaid contracts under this section shall register the dealer's intent to offer such contracts with the secretary of state by May 1 of each year. Registration shall be on a form provided by the secretary of state and shall indicate which securitization method or combination of methods listed in paragraph IV are used to secure the contracts.
  • A home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas dealer who offers prepaid contracts under this section shall file an annual report with the secretary of state by December 1 of each year demonstrating how the dealer has satisfied the requirements of this section, including how the prepaid contracts are secured. The report shall be made on a form provided by the secretary of state. The form shall conspicuously bear the warning that making a false statement on the form shall constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice in violation of RSA 358-A. The report shall be signed by the dealer. If the dealer is a corporation, the report shall be signed by either the president or an officer of the corporation and shall include a list of all of the members of the board of directors of the corporation. The secretary of state may not charge a fee for the form or for filing the report.

VI. Failure to comply with this section shall constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice in violation of RSA 358-A.

Source. 2007, 376:4, eff. Sept. 1, 2007. 2014, 300:2-4, eff. Jan. 1, 2015. 2016, Chapter 107, eff. July 19, 2016

Special Marriage license

NEW!

Special Marriage License applications and credit card payments are now accepted online!
Save mailing time and receive the special marriage license directly in your email!
Create an account or login to the QuickStart system here to get started.

WHO CAN PERFORM MARRIAGES IN NEW HAMPSHIRE

Marriages in New Hampshire may be performed by the following:

  • A Justice of the Peace commissioned in the State of New Hampshire;
  • Any minister of the gospel in New Hampshire who has been ordained according to the usage of his or her denomination, who resides in New Hampshire and is in regular standing with the denomination.
  • Any minister who resides outside of New Hampshire, but has a pastoral charge wholly or partly in New Hampshire, if the marriage is performed within his/her parish.
  • Any member of the clergy who is not ordained but is engaged in the services of the religious body to which he or she belongs and resides in New Hampshire, - after being licensed by the Secretary of State.

The secretary of state may issue a license to an unordained clergy who is a resident of New Hampshire and who is a member of and engaged in the service of a religious body which is chartered by the state if he or she presents a certification from that body that he or she is in its service, together with an application and the statutory fee of $5.00. The license issued by the secretary of state shall authorize the clergy to solemnize marriages in New Hampshire as long as he/she retains a good standing in his/her religious body.

  • By any minister who resides outside of New Hampshire - after being licensed by the Secretary of State.

The secretary of state may issue a special license to an ordained minister or non-ordained minister who resides outside of New Hampshire to perform a single marriage in New Hampshire. An application, available through the Secretary of State's Office (or the above link) is required, along with the statutory fee of $25.00. A special license will be issued to perform one marriage only. This special license is required to be filed with the regular marriage license which the couple obtained from the town or city clerk.

An individual who resides outside of New Hampshire, who is authorized or licensed by law in their state of residence to perform marriages - after being licensed by the Secretary of State.

The secretary of state may issue a special marriage officiant license, which shall temporarily authorize an individual to solemnize a marriage in New Hampshire.


NEW!

Special Marriage License applications and credit card payments are now accepted online!
Save mailing time and receive the special marriage license directly in your email!
Create an account or login to the QuickStart system here to get started.


Application to Perform a Marriage Ceremony in New Hampshire - printable fill-in form

The secretary of state may issue a special license to an individual residing out of state who is authorized or licensed by law to perform marriages in such individual's state of residence, authorizing him or her in a special case to marry a couple within the state. The secretary of state may require the submission of a copy of a valid commission or other indicia of authority to marry in the individual's state of residence as proof of existence of that authority. The names and residences of the couple proposed to be married in such special case shall be stated in the license, and no power shall be conferred to marry any other parties than those named therein. The fee for such license shall be $25.00.

  • Judges of the United States appointed pursuant to Article III of the United States Constitution, or by United States Magistrate Judges appointed pursuant to federal law - after being licensed by the Secretary of State.
  • Bankruptcy Judges appointed pursuant to Article I of the United States Constitution - after being licensed by the Secretary of State.
  • New Hampshire supreme court justice, superior court judge, or circuit court judge - after being licensed by the Secretary of State. (Eff. 7/13/2014)

The secretary of state may issue a special license to a judge of the United States residing in New Hampshire who is appointed pursuant to Article III of the United States Constitution, to a Judge of the United States Bankruptcy Court residing in this state and appointed pursuant to Article I of the United States Constitution, or to a United States Magistrate Judge residing in this state and appointed pursuant to federal law or to a state supreme court justice, superior court judge, or circuit court judge.. There shall be a $25.00 fee for each license. A copy of the marriage license of the couple proposed to be married shall be filed with the secretary of state who shall maintain a permanent record of all such marriage licenses and the name and residence of the judge or magistrate performing the ceremony.

For more information you may contact the Secretary of State's Office at 603-271-3242

OR

Contact the Bureau of Vital Records at 603-271-4651

Miscellaneous Menu