New Hampshire
Secretary of State

Administration Division

Administration

Ethics Miscellaneous

Commissioner of Deeds

Notary Public

Petroleum Sales Contract

 

Executive Branch Ethics RSA 21-G:24

Financial Interests RSA 15-A and 12-G

Honorariums and Expense Reports – RSA 15-B and 14-C

Lobbyists

Lobbyist Financial Reports

Congressional Delegation

Executive Orders

New Hampshire Canadian Trade Council

NH Constitution

Administration Division Applications and Forms

Notices and Press Releases

 

Contact Administration for information regarding apostilles/certificates, athlete agents, auctioneers, ballot law commission, commissioner of deeds, notaries public, justices of the peace, governor and council, hawker & peddler licenses, itinerant vendors, lobbyists and special marriage licenses.

Secretary of State's Office - Administration
Phone: 603-271-3242
Fax: 603-271-6316
Email: Administration@sos.nh.gov

Location and Mailing address:
N.H. Department of State
State House, Room 204
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301-4989

TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964

facebook logo

Commissioner of Deeds

COMMISSIONER OF DEEDS LAW - RSA 455:12

The Notary Public and Justice of the Peace Manual is available on-line or by contacting the Secretary of State's Office at 603-271-3242

REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION

  • Applicants are not residents of New Hampshire.
  • The fee is $75 for a 5-year commission.

PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING

  • The application is obtained from the Secretary of State’s Office. You may request an application the following ways: Call 271-3242 OR mail your request in writing to the Secretary of State’s Office, 107 North Main Street, State House Room 204, Concord, N.H. 03301 OR email your request to administration@sos.nh.gov OR download the APPLICATION.
  • Complete the application and return it to the Secretary of State’s Office with the $75 fee.
  • Your request will be treated as follows:
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for nomination.
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for appointment.
  • This process will take 8-10 weeks.

AFTER COMMISSIONED BY GOVERNOR AND EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

  • Your appointment as a commissioner of deeds will be for 5 years from the date the Governor and Council confirms your appointment. The date of appointment will be indicated on your commission.
  • Within a week after appointment, you will receive your commission, oath, Notary Public Manual and other information from the Secretary of State’s Office.

You must:

  • Sign and take your oath of office before a judge of some court of record. The judge should sign your commission as well.
  • Return the oath to the Secretary of State’s Office as soon as possible. Unless we have your oath on file, we cannot certify that you are qualified as a commissioner of deeds.
  • Keep the commission for your records.

POWERS OF A COMMISSIONER OF DEEDS

Every Commissioner of Deeds shall have the power to:  

  • Administer oaths, both in and out of New Hampshire for documents that will be used in New Hampshire.
  • Take depositions and affidavits to be used in New Hampshire.
  • Take acknowledgements of deeds or instruments to be used or recorded in New Hampshire in the same manner and with the same effect as a Justice of the Peace has in New Hampshire.

While RSA 455 does not require a Commissioner of Deeds to use a seal when making acknowledgements, RSA 456-B The Uniform Law on Notarial Acts does require the use of a seal. We recommend that when performing an act as a Commissioner of Deeds, you do so under your official seal.

A justice of the peace (commissioner of deeds) signing an acknowledgement or jurat on any document or instrument shall type, print, or stamp the name of the justice of the peace (commissioner of deeds) and state the expiration date of his or her commission on the document or instrument. However, failure to meet these requirements shall not impair the legal validity of any acknowledgement or jurat.

FEES

  • A fee of no more than $10.00 can be collected for each oath, witness, service or certification, except that:
  • For depositions, a fee of $5.00 but not more than $50.00 may be collected. The fee is based upon the amount that the commissioner feels is sufficient payment for his/her services. The commissioner is also entitled to .20/mile when traveling to swear in witnesses.
  • No fees are allowed for administering and certifying oaths of office of town officers.

HOW DO I RENEW MY COMMISSIONER OF DEEDS COMMISSION?

  • The renewal process is the same as the process you completed for your initial commission. You may download the renewal application, OR
  • A renewal application will be mailed to you approximately 3 months prior to the date your current commission is due to expire.
  • If you move during the 5 years of your commission (or change your name) and do not notify the Secretary of State’s Office, your renewal form will not reach you.

 

Notary Public

NOTARY PUBLIC LAW - RSA 455 and Uniform Law on Notarial Acts - RSA 456-B

Click here for information about Electronic and Remote Notarization

The Notary Public and Justice of the Peace Manual is available  on-line or by contacting the Secretary of State's Office at 603-271-3242

REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION

  • Every person applying to become a notary public must be a resident of New Hampshire (see new reciprocity law below).
  • You must be at least 18 years of age.
  • The applicant must sign a written statement under oath as to whether he/she has ever been convicted of a crime that has not been annulled by a court, other than minor traffic violations.
  • Two notaries public and one registered voter of New Hampshire must endorse the application for appointment.
  • The applicant must complete an Acknowledgement of Criminal Record Check Form (which appears on the reverse side of the application.
  • The fee is $75 for a 5-year commission.

PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING - The application below are for New Hampshire residents ONLY 

  • The application is obtained from the Secretary of State’s Office. You may request an application the following ways: Call 271-3242 OR mail your request in writing to the Secretary of State’s Office, 107 North Main Street, State House Room 204, Concord, N.H. 03301 OR email your request to administration@sos.nh.gov OR download the NEW APPLICATION. The application includes, on the back, the Acknowledgement of Criminal Record Check. You MUST complete and submit the entire application. (You may print this form double-sided.) DO NOT use this form as a renewal. See below for renewal information.
  • Complete the entire application and return it to the Secretary of State’s Office with the $75 fee.
  • Send the ORIGINAL form. If you send a copy of the form, it will be returned.
    Your request will be treated as follows:
  • The Secretary of State will use the Acknowledgement of Criminal Record Check to check the N.H. State Police database to see if you have a record of criminal convictions.
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for nomination.
  • Your application will be submitted to the Governor and Executive Council for appointment.
  • This process will take 8-10 weeks.

RECIPROCITY FOR NOTARIES IN ABUTTING STATES (not NH residents)

Effective August 4, 2019, a resident of an abutting state may apply to be commissioned as a Notary Public in New Hampshire under the following circumstances:

Qualification of applicant:

  • Must be a resident of Maine, Massachusetts or Vermont;
  • Must be regularly employed or carries on a trade, business, or practice in New Hampshire at the time of applying;
  • Must be a registered Notary Public in their home state.

Application forms to be submitted: The applications below are for OUT-OF-STATE residents ONLY 

  • Notary Public Application for Maine, Massachusetts or Vermont resident;
  • Affidavit of Employment;
  • Acknowledgement of Criminal Record Check for the State of New Hampshire;
  • Criminal History Record completed by the Department of Safety in your home state;
  • $75 application fee.

    AFTER COMMISSIONED BY GOVERNOR AND EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
  • Your commission as a notary public will be for 5 years from the date the Governor and Council confirm your appointment. The date of appointment will be indicated on your commission.
  • Within a week after appointment, you will receive your commission, oath, Notary Public Manual and other information from the Secretary of State’s Office.

You must:

  • Sign and take your oath of office in the presence of two justices of the peace, or two notaries public, OR one notary public and one justice of the peace. Those who sign your oath should also sign your commission.
  • Return the oath to the Secretary of State’s Office as soon as possible. Unless we have your oath on file, we cannot certify that you are qualified as a notary.
  • Keep the commission for your records. 

NOTARY SEAL

All acknowledgements made by you as a notary public shall be either under an official seal or an official rubber stamp.

  • The official seal shall have the following information printed on it: 
    • Name of the Notary
    • The words “Notary Public”
    • The words “New Hampshire”
    • A separate rubber stamp should carry the expiration date of the notary public’s commission.
  • The official rubber stamp shall have the following information printed on it:
    • Name of the Notary
    • The words “Notary Public”
    • The words “New Hampshire”
    • The expiration date of the notary public’s commission.

AUTHORIZED NOTARIAL ACTS (RSA 456-B)

  • Acknowledgements
  • Oaths and affirmations
  • Jurats
  • Depositions
  • Copy Certifications
  • Witnessing or attesting signatures
  • Protests

FEES

  • A fee of no more than $10.00 can be collected for each oath, witness, service or certification, except that:
  • For depositions (RSA 517), a fee of $5.00 but not more than $50.00 may be collected. The fee is based upon the amount that the notary feels is sufficient payment for his/her services. The notary is also entitled to .20/mile when traveling to swear in witnesses.
  • No fees are allowed for administering and certifying oaths of office of town officers.

HOW DO I RENEW MY NOTARY PUBLIC COMMISSION?

  • The renewal process is the same as the process you completed for your initial commission.
  • A renewal application will be mailed to you approximately 12 weeks prior to the date your current commission is due to expire. Renewal applications ARE NOT available on-line.
  • If you move during the 5 years of your commission (or change your name) and do not notify the Secretary of State’s Office, your renewal form will not reach you.

 

RECORDS

  • Although New Hampshire law does not require notaries to keep a journal of their notarial acts, it is recommended by the National Notary Association that you do so.

Electronic and Remote Notarization

ELECTRONIC AND REMOTE NOTARIZATION
RSA 456-B (effective February 6, 2022)

The New Hampshire Uniform Law on Notarial Acts, authorizes the performance of electronic and remote notarization.  A notary may perform remote notarization by means of live two-way audio-visual communication technology.  Before providing these new services, notaries will be required to notify the Secretary of State's Office of the technology services and/or vendors the notary will purchase to provide these new services.

The law requires notaries who wish to use electronic or remote notarization capabilities to meet minimum technical performance requirements.  Notary journals are required.  Several technology service companies offer electronic and remote notarization systems.  Each notary choosing to perform these services is responsible for verifying that the vendor the notary employs certifies that their system/services meet the statutory requirements in New Hampshire.  A notary should also ensure that the system/services comply with industry-imposed requirements.  Check with the Title Company and/or lender before using remote notarial services for any property transaction.  A notary will need to confirm whether they accept remotely notarized documents for both insurance and deed recording purposes.

______________________________________________________________________________________

Electronic/Remote Notarization Notification Form  (to be completed by a Notary Public or Justice of the Peace who will be providing this service in New Hampshire.

For a list of Notaries or Justices of the Peace who have notified the Secretary of State's Office that they will be performing electronic and/or remote notarizations click here.

______________________________________________________________________________________

E-Notarization and/or Remote Notarization Technology Provider Form  (to be completed by a provider qualified to provide their technology services in New Hampshire)

For a list of providers who have notified the Secretary of State's Office that they are qualified to offer electronic and/or remote services in New Hampshire click here.

______________________________________________________________________________________

References:

On-line Notary Public and Justice of the Peace Manual

RSA 455 Notaries Public (as amended by Chapter 206, Laws of 2021, eff. 2.6.22)

RSA 456-B Uniform Law on Notarial Acts (as amended by Chapter 206, Laws of 2021, eff. 2.6.22)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FAQ's (Frequently Asked Questions)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Users of E-Notarizaton


Technology Providers


Frequently Asked Questions


Petroleum Sales Contract

REGISTRATION FORM - due May 1st of every year

ANNUAL REPORT - due December 1st of every year

Registrations - 2024

Advanced Gas Distributors Inc
A.R. Sandri Inc
B&H Oil Company LLC
Barrows & Fisher Oil Co
Bob's Fuel Company LLC
Bot-L-Gas Inc
C Bean Transport Inc
Cardinal & Glidden Oil Co Inc
Carroll County Oil
Ciardelli Fuel Company Inc
City Fuel Company Inc
CN Brown Energy
Cota & Cota Inc
Country Fuels LLC
Crawford-Vogel & Wenzel Oil
D.F. Richard Inc
Davis Oil Company Inc
Dead River Company
Eastern Propane Gas Inc
Energy North Incorporated
Fielding's Oil Co Inc
Fitch Fuel Campany Inc
Foley Oil Company Inc
Frechette Oil
HB Energy Solutions Inc
H.R. Clough Inc
Hebert Fuel Co LLC
Hometown Oil LLC
Irving Oil Terminals Inc (dba Irving Energy)
Johnny Prescott & Son Oil Company Inc
Just Oil LLC
Lorden Oil Co Inc
Mike Murphy & Son's Inc
P Gagnon & Son Inc
Palmer Gas Co LLC
Proulx Oil & Propane Service LLC
R.E. Hinkley Company Inc
Red Brick Holdings Inc dba Patten Energy
Rick Wenzel Oil Company LLC
Simple Energy Partners LLC
Stafford Oil Company Inc
Suburban Propane
Swanzey Oil LLC
Townsend Oil Co Inc d/b/a Townsend Energy
Vaillancourts Fuel LLC
White Mountain Oil & Propane


Annual Reports - 2024

Advanced Gas Distributors Inc
B&H Oil Company LLC
Bob's Fuel Company LLC
Bot-L-Gas Inc
C Bean Transport Inc
Cardinal & Glidden Oil Co Inc
Ciardelli Fuel Company
City Fuel Company Inc
CN Brown Energy
Cota & Cota Inc
Crawford-Vogel & Wenzel Oil
Davis Oil Company Inc
Dead River Company
Fitch Fuel Campany Inc
Foley Oil Company Inc
H.R. Clough Inc
Hometown Oil LLC
Irving Oil Terminals Inc (dba Irving Energy)
Johnny Prescott & Son Oil Company Inc
Mike Murphy & Sons Inc
Palmer Gas Co LLC
Red Brick Holdings Ind dba Patten Energy
Rick Wenzel Oil Company LLC
Swanzey Oil LLC
Townsend Oil Co Inc d/b/a Townsend Energy
Welch Oil Co LLC


339:79 Requirements for Guaranteed Price Plans and Prepaid Contracts for Petroleum. –

I. A contract with a consumer that offers a guaranteed price plan, requires prepayment by the consumer, or similar contracts shall be in writing and shall disclose the terms and conditions of the plan. A solicitation for such a guaranteed price plan that could become a contract upon response from a consumer shall also be in writing with the terms and conditions disclosed in plain language.
II. A contract for the retail sale of home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas to a consumer shall also indicate the total amount of money to be paid by the consumer, the gallons committed by the fuel dealer to be delivered under the contract, the price per gallon, the payment terms, the duration of the contract, the remedies enforceable by the dealer against a non-performing consumer, and that the contract is secured as provided in this section. The information required by this section shall be in plain language and shall be printed in no less than 12-point boldface type of uniform font after the price of service described.
III. A contract that requires prepayment by the consumer shall comply with paragraphs I and II of this section. Such contract also:

  1. Shall not be advertised or solicited by the dealer in any manner to advertise, solicit, or promote the details of prepaid contracts being offered to consumers, nor shall the dealer solicit or promote pre-buy services independent of all the services offered by the dealer, earlier than May 1 or later than October 31 of the year in which the heating fuel season begins. Such contracts may be signed prior to May 1 only at the request of the consumer.
  2. Shall require dealers to reimburse consumers at the contract price for any undelivered pre-purchased fuel, within 30 days after the contract ends, unless the dealer and consumer agree to different terms.
  3. Shall include a clear explanation of the means by which the dealer will meet the obligations of the contract for the entire contract period, including supplier agreements, futures contracts, bonding, a line of credit or liquid product inventory.
  4. Shall not falsely claim coverage. Any dealer who falsely claims coverage or fails to maintain coverage until the completion of the contract shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor, in addition to other penalties as provided in paragraph VI. 

IV. No home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas dealer shall enter into a prepaid contract to provide home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas to a consumer unless that dealer has, within 7 days of the acceptance of the contract, obtained and maintained any one of the following: 

  • A firm commitment in the form of a futures contract or other commitment that guarantees that the dealer may purchase, at a fixed price, heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas in an amount not less than 75 percent of the maximum number of gallons that the dealer is committed to deliver pursuant to all prepaid contracts entered into by the dealer. The amount of such futures contract may be reduced to reflect any amount of home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas already delivered to and paid for by the consumer;
  • A surety bond, made payable to the attorney general, in an amount not less than 50 percent of the total amount of funds paid to the dealer by consumers pursuant to prepaid heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas contracts;
  • A letter of credit, made payable to the attorney general, from an FDIC-insured institution in an amount that represents 100 percent of the cost to the dealer of the maximum number of gallons that the dealer is committed to deliver pursuant to all prepaid contracts entered into by the dealer. The cost shall be calculated at the time the contracts are entered into; or
  • A liquid product inventory of home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas in an amount equal to 75 percent of the outstanding volume in gallons that the dealer is obligated to deliver under the terms of prepaid contracts in force.

V. Paragraph IV of this section shall not apply to budget plans under which consumers pay their yearly heating costs by making equal monthly payments.

  • A home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas dealer who offers prepaid contracts under this section shall register the dealer's intent to offer such contracts with the secretary of state by May 1 of each year. Registration shall be on a form provided by the secretary of state and shall indicate which securitization method or combination of methods listed in paragraph IV are used to secure the contracts.
  • A home heating oil, kerosene, or liquefied petroleum gas dealer who offers prepaid contracts under this section shall file an annual report with the secretary of state by December 1 of each year demonstrating how the dealer has satisfied the requirements of this section, including how the prepaid contracts are secured. The report shall be made on a form provided by the secretary of state. The form shall conspicuously bear the warning that making a false statement on the form shall constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice in violation of RSA 358-A. The report shall be signed by the dealer. If the dealer is a corporation, the report shall be signed by either the president or an officer of the corporation and shall include a list of all of the members of the board of directors of the corporation. The secretary of state may not charge a fee for the form or for filing the report.

VI. Failure to comply with this section shall constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice in violation of RSA 358-A.

Source. 2007, 376:4, eff. Sept. 1, 2007. 2014, 300:2-4, eff. Jan. 1, 2015. 2016, Chapter 107, eff. July 19, 2016