
Investment Advisers under N.H. Law 

Federal Covered Advisers 
 
"Federal covered advisers", those registered and regulated by the Securities 
and Exchange Commission, are not subject to the investment adviser 
licensing provisions of the State of New Hampshire. Every federal covered 
adviser doing business in New Hampshire must file a notice and pay a fee 
prior to conducting investment adviser business in New Hampshire. There is 
no "de minimis" exception from the notice filing requirement. The notice 
consists of submission of the Form ADV, Part I and a $250 fee to the Web 
IARD system. The Bureau does not require a copy of the Form ADV, Part II 
to be filed, but it must be made available upon five days notice. On or before 
December 31st of each year, federal covered advisers need to pay a renewal 
notice filing fee of $200 to the IARD system for the ensuing year. 
 
Any agents or investment adviser representatives, as defined by SEC rules, 
located in the State of New Hampshire need to be licensed with this state. A 
Form U-4 and fee of $130 must be submitted to the Web CRD/IARD system 
for licensure, and a renewal fee of $100 is due on or before December 31st 
of each year for licensure in the ensuing year. The examination requirement 
for agents is passage of the NASD Series 65 examination or passage of the 
NASD Series 66 & 7 examinations. 
 
State Regulated Investment Advisers 
 
Investment advisers who are not eligible for registration with the Securities 
and Exchange Commission are regulated at the state level and are licensed 
by the states in which they do business and subject to the requirements of 
the state in which their principal office is located ("home state").  
 
As a state regulated investment adviser, a firm is subject to the investment 
adviser licensing provisions of the State of New Hampshire. Please see our 
Application Checklist (NB: need to hyperlink to this page) to verify what 
documents and fees are required to apply for licensure. On or before 
December 31st of each year, licensed investment advisers will need to 
either submit a renewal license fee of $200 to the Web IARD system for the 
ensuing year or submit a Form ADV-W to request withdrawal of the license. 
An exception from the licensure requirement is available for a state 
regulated investment adviser who has no place of business in New 
Hampshire and who, during the preceding 12 month period, has had not 
more than 5 clients who are residents of New Hampshire. 
 
Investment advisers whose home states are states other than New 
Hampshire must remain in compliance with the record keeping, net worth 
and reporting requirements of their home state. As a state licensed adviser, 
the firm is required to keep the information on file with this Bureau current, 
which should be accomplished by promptly submitting to the secretary of 
state copies of all documents filed with its home state. An investment 
adviser whose home state is New Hampshire is required to keep the 
information on file with this Bureau current at all times. 
 



  
 
For firms that are required to be licensed in New Hampshire, any agents or 
investment adviser representatives of the firm doing business with New 
Hampshire clients, whether or not the representative is located in New 
Hampshire, will need to be licensed with this state. A Form U-4 and fee of 
$130 must be submitted to the Web CRD/IARD system for licensure, and a 
renewal fee of $100 is due on or before December 31st of each year for 
licensure in the ensuing year. The examination requirement for agents is 
passage of the Series 65 or passage of the Series 66 & 7 NASD 
examinations. 


