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DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER
33 HAZEN DR. CONCORD, NH 03305
603/271-2791

JOHN J. BARTHELMES
COMMISSIONER

May 4, 2017

His Excellency, Governor Christopher T. Sununu
and the Honorable Council

State House

Concord, New Hampshire 0330!

Reguested Action

Pursuant to RSA 21-1:29-a, I, the Department of Safety, Office of the Commissioner, requests authorization to
disburse to Ms. Whitney Banker of Canaan, New Hampshire, as the surviving adult child of deceased
Firefighter/Engineer Charles Waterbury, death benefits in the amount of $100,000.00 as a result of
Firefighter/Engineer Waterbury’s line-of-duty death on July 24, 2016. Effective upon Governor and Council
approval. Funding source; 100% General Funds.

Explanation

This request is to disburse benefits to the daughter, as defined by RSA 21-1:29-a, |, of Firefighter/Engineer Charles
Waterbury, who died in the line of duty. On July 24, 2016, Firefighter/Engineer Waterbury, a 10-year veteran of the
Orford Fire Department, responded with members of the fire department to a fire in Lyme, NH. Waterbury was
manning the engine assigned as the water supply unit when, without waming, he collapsed. He received immediate
medical assistance and was transported to a local hospital where he was pronounced dead on arrival. Pursuant to
RSA 21-1:29-a N, in addition to any other benefits provided under this chapter, the State Treasurer shall pay a
$100,000.00 death benefit to the family of a police officer or firefighter killed in the line of duty. The Governor,
with the consent of the Executive Council, is authorized to draw a warrant for said sum out of any money in the
Treasury not otherwise appropriated.

Respectfully submitted,

arthelmes
ommissioner of Safety

TDD ACCESS: RELAY NH 1-800-735-2964
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TITLE 1
THE STATE AND ITS GOVERNMENT

CHAPTER 21-1
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

State Employees Group Insurance

Section 21-1:29-a

21-1:29-a Death Benefit for Police Officer or Firefighter Killed in Line of Duty. ~
[. In this section:
(a) "Adult child" means a child, whether by blood or adoption, of the police officer or firefighter, age
18 or otder at the time of death of such police officer or firefighter and who does not meet the
definition of a dependent child.
(b) "Dependent child” means a child, whether by blood or adoption, of the police officer or firefighter
who:
(1) Is under the age of 25 and was dependent on the earnings of the police officer or firefighter at the
time of death. For the purposes of this subparagraph, a child is not considered dependent if the child
provides more than half of his or her own support, is married, or is legally adopted by another; or
(2) Is any age and is physically or mentally incapacitated and was dependent on the earnings of the
police officer or firefighter at the time of death.
(c) "Family" means the surviving spouse of the police officer or firefighter who was wholly or
partially dependent, in fact, upon the earnings of the police officer or firefighter; or, if there is no
surviving spouse, the surviving dependent child or dependent children, of such police officer or
firefighter or, if there is no surviving dependent child, a surviving person qualifying as a common-law
spouse pursuant to RSA 457:39, or if there is no surviving common-law spouse, the surviving adult
child or adult children, or if there is no surviving adult child or adult children, the surviving parent or
parents of such police officer or firefighter.
(d) "Firefighter" means any firefighter, including auxiliary, intermittent, special, part-time, volunteer,
call, or reserve firefighters who are employed by a city, town, village district, or precinct within the
state of New Hampshire, any firefighter employed by the state of New Hampshire, or any firefighter
who is a volunteer for or employed by a non-profit corporation which is the primary provider of fire
protection for all or part of a New Hampshire municipality.
(¢) "Killed in the line of duty" means a death of a police officer or firefighter while in the performance
of his or her duties as a result of incident, accident, or violence causing death or injuries which are the
direct or proximate cause of death. “Incident" shall include any death that is determined to be
occupationally related by the worker's compensation insurance carrier, a self-insured worker's
compensation plan, or by the labor commissioner for workers' compensation purposes pursuant to
RSA 281-A.
() "Police officer" means any law enforcement officer with the power of arrest, including auxiliary,
intermittent, special, part-time, or reserve police officers, or sheriffs and their deputies who are
employed by a city, town, village district, county, or precinct within the state of New Hampshire,
police officers employed by the university system of New Hampshire, and any state law enforcement
officer employed by the state of New Hampshire who has power of arrest as determined by state law.
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1. In addition to any other benefits provided under this chapter, the state treasurer shail pay a
$100,000 death benefit to the family of a police officer or firefighter killed in the line of duty.
Payment to a dependent child under the age of 18 shall be made to the child's trustee for the benefit of
the child. The governor, with the consent of the executive council, is authorized to draw a warrant for
said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated.

HI. The commissioner of safety, upon notice from the family or chief of department of any firefighter
or police officer who may be entitled to a line-of-duty death benefit or upon the commissioner's own
initiative, shall obtain the available records related to the circumstances, cause, and manner of such
death and the decedent's status as a firefighter or police officer, may cause further inquiry to be made,
and shall make a determination of whether the death qualifies as a line-of-duty death and who is
entitled to the death benefit. The determination shall be made within 180 days of the determination of
the cause and manner of death by the office of the chief medical examiner, or within 180 days from
‘the date the commissioner received notice from the family or chief of department of the firefighter or
police officer, whichever is later. For deaths that are not reviewed by the office of the chief medical
examiner, the determination shall be made within 180 days of a determination that the decedent
qualifies for a workers' compensation death benefit by a worker's compensation carrier, self-insured
worker's compensation plan, or the labor commissioner pursuant to RSA 281-A, or within 180 days
from the date the commissioner received notice from the family or chief of department of the
firefighter or police officer, whichever is later.

(a) Solely for the purposes of making this determination and notwithstanding any other law to the
contrary, the commissioner of safety may obtain any records held by any state or municipal official
regarding the circumstances, cause, or manner of the death and who is entitled to the death benefit.
(b) The commissioner of safety may consult with the office of the chief medical examiner and the
labor commissioner, and may disclose to either any information or records obtained in the course of
his or her inquiry.

(¢} Any records held by the commissioner of safety pursuant to this section shall not be subject to the
right-to-know law, RSA 91-A and shall not be subject to disclosure in any civil action. Upon request
of the decedent's family any medical records or other records which otherwise are non-public may be
destroyed following the vote by the governor and executive council to authorize payment of a line-of-
duty death benefit or, in the case of a denial, following the expiration of the appeal period.

(d) If the commissioner of safety determines that the death is not a qualified line-of-duty death, he or
she shall cause the decedent's family to be notified. The family may appeal the determination within
180 days of the date of the notification by notifying the commissioner of safety in writing. In the
event of an appeal for a firefighter, the attorney general shall appoint an appeal hearing panel
consisting of one medical doctor, one member appointed by the New Hampshire Association of Fire
Chiefs, one member appointed by the prefessional association that the decedent belonged to, and 2
citizens who are not associated with the professions of police officer or firefighter, at least one of
whom is a attorney admitted to practice in New Hampshire. In the event of an appeal for a law
enforcement officer, the attorney general shall appoint an appeal hearing panel consisting of one
medical doctor, one member appointed by the appropriate professional association for management of
the decedent's branch of law enforcement, one member appointed by the appropriate professional
association for the decedent's branch of law enforcement, and 2 citizens who are not associated with
the professions of law enforcement or firefighter, at least one of whom is an attorney admitted to
practice in New Hampshire. Where no professional association exists for the branch for which the
decedent worked, the attorney general shall select the panel member from among the management or
members of the branch for which the decedent worked as 1s necessary to fill either the professional
association management or member position on the panel. The commissioner of safety shall forward
to the appeal panel all the information that he or she considered in reaching the determination. Upon
request of the family, the appeal hearing shatl be exempt from the right-to-know law, RSA 91-A.
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Hearings shall be conducted in conformance with RSA 541-A and the department of justice Jus 800
administrative procedural rules. The appeal hearing panel shall review the evidence de novo, may
receive additional evidence from the family or others, and shall determine by a preponderance of the
evidence whether the decedent's death was a qualified line-of-duty death.

(e) If the commissioner of safety or the appeal hearing panel determines by a preponderance of the
evidence that the death is a qualified line-of-duty death, the commissioner shall submit an item to the
governor seeking approval of payment of the benefit.

[l-a. Neither the state nor its agencies or employees shall be civitly liable for any improper payment
of the line-of-duty death benefit as provided in this section.

V. This section shall be known as "Michael's Law" in honor of Manchester Police Officer Michael
Briggs who was shot while on duty.

Source. 2007, 243:2; 291:1. 2008, 382:1, eff. July 11, 2008. 2012, 195:1-3, eff. June 11, 2012. 2016,
298:1, 2, eff. June 21, 2016.
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