## HOW COUNTY COMMISSIONERS ARE ELECTED

**Belknap County** - One County Commissioner is elected in each district **only by the registered voters from that district** for a rotating term.

	2022	2024	2026	2028
1st District	no election	2-year term	4-year term	no election
2nd District	4-year term	no election	2-year term	4-year term
3rd District	2-year term	4-year term	no election	2-year term

Carroll County - One County Commissioner is elected from each district by registered voters from the entire county.

	2022	2024	2026	2028
1st District	2-year term	4-year term	no election	2-year term
2nd District	no election	2-year term	4-year term	no election
3rd District	4-year term	no election	2-year term	4-year term

Cheshire County - One County Commissioner is elected in each district only by the registered voters from that district for a rotating term.

	2022	2024	2026	2028
1st District	no election	2-year term	4-year term	no election
2nd District	4-year term	no election	2-year term	4-year term
3rd District	2-year term	4-year term	no election	2-year term

Coos County - One County Commissioner is elected in each district only by the registered voters from that district for a rotating term.

	2022	2024	2026	2028
1st District	4-year term	no election	2-year term	4-year term
2nd District	2-year term	4-year term	no election	2-year term
3rd District	no election	2-year term	4-year term	no election

**Grafton County** – One County Commissioner is elected in each district **only by the registered voters from that district for** a rotating term.

	2022	2024	2026	2028
1st District	4-year term	no election	2-year term	4-year term
2nd District	2-year term	4-year term	no election	2-year term
3rd District	2-year term	2-year term	4-year term	no election

Hillsborough Counties - One County Commissioner is elected for a 2-year term by only those voters in each district.

Merrimack County - One County Commissioner is elected in each district only by the registered voters from that district for a rotating term.

	2022	2024	2026	2028
1st District	no election	2-year term	4-year term	no election
2nd District	4-year term	no election	2-year term	4-year term
3rd District	2-year term	4-year term	no election	2-year term

**Rockingham County** - One County Commissioner is elected in each district **only by the registered voters from that district** for a rotating term.

	2022	2024	2026	2028
1st District	4-year term	no election	2-year term	4-year term
2nd District	2-year term	4-year term	no election	2-year term
3rd District	no election	2-year term	4-year term	no election

**Strafford County** - Three County Commissioners elected at-large throughout the entire county.

Sullivan County - One County Commissioner is elected in each district by the registered voters from the entire county.

	2022	2024	2026	2028
1st District	no election	2-year term	4-year term	no election
2nd District	4-year term	no election	2-year term	4-year term
3rd District	2-year term	4-year term	no election	2-year term

Updated: March 2022