New Hampshire
Secretary of State

Select a Special Election from the dropdown list below


The Governor and Executive Council, at their meeting held on Wednesday, December 18, 2019, approved the Precept to hold a SPECIAL ELECTION for State Representative from Merrimack County District No. 24 (Hooksett) 

Filing Period:  December 23 - 27, 2019.   Candidates may file with the Town Clerk of Hooksett on December 23rd or Tuesday, December 24th during normal business hours OR they may file with the Secretary of State's Office Monday December 23rd through Friday, December 27th, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.   (The office will be CLOSED on Christmas Day). Any person filing in person on the last day (December 27th) must do so in person. 

Primary:  January 21, 2020 

Special Election:  March 10, 2020 Deadline to request a recount with the Secretary of State is 5:00 p.m. March 11, 2020) 

Republican -
Elliot Axelman, Hooksett (8 Heather Drive) 03106 (primary vote 341) WON PRIMARY (election vote-961)
                     John A. Leavitt, Hooksett (1B Meadowcrest Road) 03106 (primary vote - 115)
                     David P. Ross, Hooksett (56 Sherwood Drive) 03106 (primary vote - 101)
Democratic - Kathleen M. Martins, Hooksett (17 Stevens Drive) 03105 (primary vote - 66) WON PRIMARY (election vote - 1000) WON ELECTION   Representative-elect Martins was sworn into office by the Governor and Executive Council on June 10, 2020


ALSO see reports filed on the on-line campaign finance system at

Receipt and Expenditure Reporting Dates    

CANDIDATE reporting forms:  Primary | General 

COMMITTEE reporting forms:  Primary | General