New Hampshire
Secretary of State

State IA Application

New Hampshire Application Checklist - State Advisers

Submit through Web IARD 

(Items that cannot be submitted through Web IARD must continue to be submitted directly to the Bureau) 

  1. Form ADV Part 1 and Part 2 (submitted through Web IARD).
     
  2. Articles of Incorporation - if a corporation.
     
  3. Certification of Formation & Operating/Management Agreements - if an LLC.
     
  4. Certificate of Formation & Limited Partnership Agreement - if an LP.
     
  5. Certificate of Formation & Partnership Agreement - if an LLP.
     
  6. Balance Sheet - certified by the principal as true and accurate to the best belief and knowledge of the preparer (applies to N.H. based investment advisors only).
     
  7. Specimen copy of all investment advisory agreements.
     
  8. Firm amendment/transfer FEE is WAIVED - Advisory License and Application.
     
  9. Firm amendment/transfer FEE is WAIVED - Agent License and Application.
     
  10. Form U-4.  Submit through Web CRD.
     
  11. Please remember to file through FINRA all investment advisor agents doing business in New Hampshire.
GO BACK

State IA Application

Renewals and Withdrawals

Renewals

Submit to the Web IARD the $200 renewal fee for the ensuing year on or before December 31st of each year. 

Additional Renewal Requirements for New Hampshire 

New Hampshire requires that each investment adviser licensed with the state amend its Form ADV each year by submitting an annual updating amendment to the IARD system within 90 days after the end of the investment adviser's fiscal year, as required by the instructions for Form ADV.  When you submit your annual updating amendment, you must update your responses to all items, including corresponding sections of Schedules A, B, C, and D.  You must submit your summary of material changes required by Item 2 of Part 2A either in the brochure (on the cover page or the page immediately thereafter) or as an exhibit to your brochure. 

 

Withdrawals

Submit a copy of Form ADV-W through the Web IARD. 

GO BACK

State IA Application

Agent Licensure and Filings

All agent filings should be submitted through Web CRD.  The Web CRD System 

INITIAL APPLICATION 

Submit a complete Form U-4 and a fee of $130 to the Web CRD System 

AMENDMENTS 

Submit amendments to Form U-4 to Web CRD, in accordance with the instructions on Form U-4.  All material information on the form U-4 on file with the Bureau through Web CRD must be current at all times. 

RENEWALS 

On or before December 31st of each year, submit a renewal fee of $100 per agent to Web CRD for licensing in the ensuing year. 

WITHDRAWALS 

Submit a Form U-5 for New Hampshire through the Web CRD system. 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE 

Each applicant for individual investment adviser licensure shall provide to the Secretary of State or to CRD, proof of obtaining a passing score(s) on one of the following examination requirements: 

  1. The Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination (Series 65); or
     
  2. The General Securities Representative Examination (Series 7) AND The Uniform Combined State Law Examination (Series 66).
     

GRANDFATHERING 

  1. Any individual who is registered or licensed as an investment adviser, investment adviser agent or investment adviser representative in any jurisdiction in the United States on January 1, 2000 shall not be required to satisfy the examination requirements for investment adviser licensure in this state, except that the Secretary of State may require additional examinations for any individual found to have violated any state or federal securities law.
     
  2. Any individual who has not been registered or licensed in any jurisdiction for a period of two (2) years shall be required to comply with the examination requirements.
     

WAIVERS - The examination requirement shall not apply to an individual who upon application holds one of the following professional designations. 

  1. Certified Financial Planner (CFP) awarded by the International Board of Standards and Practices for Certified Financial Planners, Inc.
     
  2. Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) awarded by the American College, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania.
     
  3. Personal Financial Specialist (PFS) awarded by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.
     
  4. Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) awarded by the Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts.
     
  5. Chartered Investment Counselor (CIC) awarded by the Investment Counsel Association of America, Inc.
     
  6. Such other designation as the Secretary of State may by rule or order recognize.
     

SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP INVESTMENT ADVISERS - Sole Proprietor Investment Advisers have to be licensed as investment advisers, but do not have to be separately licensed as agents.  They do, however, have to meet the same examination requirements for licensure of agents. 

GO BACK

State IA Application

IARD System

GO BACK

State IA Application

Transfer form Federal (SEC) to State IA

Submit through Web IARD 

(Items that cannot be submitted through Web IARD must continue to be submitted directly to the Bureau) 

  1. Form ADV Part 1 and Part 2 (submitted through Web IARD).
     
  2. Articles of Incorporation - if a corporation.
     
  3. Certification of Formation & Operating/Management Agreements - if an LLC.
     
  4. Certificate of Formation & Limited Partnership Agreement - if an LP.
     
  5. Certificate of Formation & Partnership Agreement - if an LLP.
     
  6. Balance Sheet - certified by the principal as true and accurate to the best belief and knowledge of the preparer (applies to N.H. based investment advisors only).
     
  7. Specimen copy of all investment advisory agreements.
     
  8. Firm amendment/transfer FEE is WAIVED - Advisory License and Application.
     
  9. Firm amendment/transfer FEE is WAIVED - Agent License and Application.
     
  10. Form U-4.  Submit through Web CRD.
     
  11. Please remember to file
GO BACK