HOW TO REGISTER TO VOTE
IN NEW HAMPSHIRE
WHO CAN REGISTER
New Hampshire residents who will be 18 years of age or older on the day of the next election, and a United States Citizen, may register with the supervisors of the checklist or the town or city clerk where they live up to 10 days before any election. You may also register on election day at the polling place. The supervisors of the checklist or the town or city clerk’s office can provide voters of what proof of qualification they should bring to register.
There is no minimum period of time you are required to have lived in the state before being allowed to register. You may register as soon as you move into your new community.
HOW TO REGISTER
1) Apply to your town or city clerk’s office. You will be required to fill out a standard voter registration form and will be required to show proof of age, citizenship and domicile.
2) It may be easier for you to register with your community’s Supervisors of the Checklist. By law, they are required to meet on the Saturday 10 days prior to each election. Check the local newspaper(s) or call your clerk’s office for the date and time of such meeting.
3) Qualified individuals may also register to vote at the polling place on election day at all elections. You will be asked to show proof of age, citizenship and domicile.
If you meet the state’s voter requirements and qualifications and are unable to register in person because of physical disability, religious beliefs, military service, or because of temporary absence, you may register by mail. You should request an absentee voter registration affidavit and a standard voter registration form from your town or city clerk. The absentee voter registration affidavit must be witnessed and then both the affidavit and the voter registration form are to be returned to your town or city clerk.
If you are a student attending college in New Hampshire, please click here for additional information.
UNIFORMED SERVICES VOTERS – An absent uniformed service voter may apply for an absentee ballot from the town or city in which he or she was domiciled immediately prior to entering the service. Uniformed service voters are eligible to vote for all offices.
VOTERS TEMPORARILY RESIDING OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES – Any person who is temporarily residing outside the United States has the right to vote in the town or city in which he or she was domiciled immediately prior to his or her departure. Temporarily absent voters are eligible to vote for all offices.
FEDERAL BALLOT ONLY VOTERS – Any United States Citizen, who is domiciled outside the United States has the right to register and vote absentee for any federal office (President, United States Senator, United States Representative) in the town or city in New Hampshire in which they or a parent or legal guardian had their domicile immediately prior to their departure from the United States, even though the person no longer maintains a domicile in said city or town and even though their intent to return is uncertain.
UOCAVA voters should use the Federal Post Card Application Form [FPCA] to apply for an absentee ballot and/or register to vote. The UOCAVA voter may choose to have his or her absentee ballot delivered either by mail or electronic transmission. Absentee ballots for UOCAVA voters are available 45 days prior to a state election.
ABSENTEE BALLOTS – Requests for
Absentee ballots are available from your town or city clerk approximately 30 days prior to an election. Request the absentee ballot application from the clerk or you may download the application; or, if you wish, you may submit a request in writing which should include all the information that is required on the application. Don’t forget your name, voting address, mailing address and your signature.
An application for an absentee ballot may be transmitted by facsimile to a town or city clerk.
ABSENTEE BALLOTS – Return of
Clerks may accept completed absentee ballots submitted in person by the voter until 5:00 p.m. the day before an election. A voter's absentee ballot may also be returned in person by the voter's parent, spouse, sibling or child to the town clerk. The person returning the absentee ballot shall complete a form and provide proper ID before the clerk will accept the ballot. Also, absentee ballots will be accepted until 5:00 p.m. on election day if received through the mail.
NEVER leave a completed absentee ballot in a box, on a desk, or slipped through the clerk's window or door.
A marked absentee ballot may NOT be transmitted by facsimile to a town or city clerk.
You can track your absentee ballot here: http://app.sos.nh.gov
When registering to vote, you will not be required to register as a member of a political party (republican or democratic) …you may register as an undeclared voter. If you are registered as an undeclared voter and go to vote in a state primary election, you will be required to choose a party when accepting a ballot. Voters should be aware of their party status before a primary election. If you voted on a party ballot in the 2012 state primary election, OR more recently, the 2016 presidential primary election, you are now a registered member of that party unless you filled out a card or signed a list to return to undeclared status with the supervisors of the checklist.
If you are unsure of your party affiliation, you should contact your town or city clerk, as they have the records of party membership. The State of New Hampshire provides an on-line voter registration portal for registered voters to look up their current party affiliation. http://app.sos.nh.gov/Public/AbsenteeBallot.aspx
If you are a party member and wish to change your registration status, initiate such a change by taking one of the following steps:
Meet with the Supervisors of the Checklist no later than May 31, 2016– the last day to change your political party before the state primary election, or register the change with your town or city clerk by that date. This is the last day to change your party affiliation before the primary. It is also the last day to register to vote if you wish to file as a candidate for the state primary election.
If you are a registered member of a party, you may change your registration at any primary, however, you will not be allowed to vote in that primary. Undeclared voters may declare a party and vote at any primary. The law allows an undeclared voter to declare a party at the polls, vote the ballot of that party, and then change their party affiliation back to undeclared simply by completing the form available from the Supervisors of the Checklist at the polling place.
VOTER REGISTRATION DEADLINES
October 30, 2015 - Last day to change your party affiliation prior to the Presidential Primary.
May 31, 2016 Last day to change your party affiliation prior to the State Primary Election.
September 6, 2016 Last day to register to vote before Primary Election Day.
September 13, 2016 STATE PRIMARY ELECTION DAY - Unregistered voters may register and vote on this day.
November 2, 2016 Last day to register to vote until the General Election. Law change: The supervisors of the checklist shall be in session for the correction of the checklist at some suitable place in the city or town on a day designated by the supervisors which shall be 6 to 13 days prior to the election.
November 8, 2016 GENERAL ELECTION DAY - Unregistered voters may register and vote on this day.