New Hampshire Municipal Records Board

  • old books
  •  

    The N.H. Municipal Records Board holds its authority under RSA 33-A.  the New Hampshire General Court made provisions for the disposal of obsolete local records in 1967 (chapter 105).  In 1977 (Chapter 358), the Legislature created the Municipal Records Board for the purpose of creating rules to update the list of disposable records. 

    In 1995, the Board issued a list of retention schedules which expired in August 2003.  The board asked for an extension, which was approved through December 2004.  Between 2001 and 2005, the Board undertook a comprehensive review of the 1995 schedules and prepared a major overhaul, attempting to clarify existing schedules, evaluate and approve new schedules recommended by local officials and finally, to codify the schedules in the statutes once again.  House Bill 437 (Chapter 187) of the 2005 Session was passed and signed into law on June 20, 2005 and became effective on August 29, 2005. 

    N.H. Municipal Records Board Statute 

    N.H. Municipal Records Board
    Meeting Minutes - January 24, 2011
     

     


  • Municipal Records Board Members
    Under RSA 33-A: 4-a
    December 2018
     

    Name
     
    Organization
     
    Phone
     
    Email
     
    Honorable William M. Gardner  Chair, N.H. Secretary of State  603-271-3242
     
      
    William H. Dunlap
     
    N.H. Historical Society
     
    603-856-0601
     
    bdunlap@nhhistory.org
     
    Brian Nelson Burford
     
    Secretary, N.H. State Archivist  603-271-2236
     
    brian.burford@sos.nh.gov
     
    Michael York
     
    N.H. State Librarian
     
    603-271-2397
     
    michael.york@dncr.nh.gov
     
    Ben Bynam,
    Town of Hopkinton
     
    N.H. Tax Collectors Association   
     
    asstclerkcollector@hopkinton-nh.gov 
    Pat Tucker,
    Town of Ashland
     
    N.H. City & Town Clerks Association     ptucker@ashland.nh.gov
     
    Loren Martin,
    Town of Merrimack
     
    N.H. Assoc. of Assessing Officials  603-798-4419
     
    loren@avitarassociates.com
     
    Stephen Wurtz
     
    N.H. State Registrar of Vital Records  603-271-4655
     
    stephen.wurtz@sos.nh.gov
     
    Mary Walter,
    City of Claremont

     
    Municipal Treasurer,
    appointed by N.H. Municipal Assoc.
     
    603-542-7014

     
    finance@claremontnh.com

     
    [vacant]
     
    Appointed by Governor & Council       
    Michelle Stahl,
    Monadnock Center for History & Culture
     
    Association of N.H. Historical Societies
     
    603-924-3235

     
    director@monadnockcneter.org

     
    Bruce K. Kneuer
     
    N.H. Dept of Revenue Administration  603-230-5953
     
    bruce.kneuer@dra.nh.gov
     
    Justin Ober
     
    N.H. State Records Manager  603-271-2236
     
    justin.ober@sos.nh.gov