How to Register to Vote

  •  

    Frequently Asked Questions

    (Click anywhere on the question text to view the answer.)
     

  • Who can register to vote?
    New Hampshire residents who will be 18 years of age or older on the day of the next election, and a United States citizen.  There is no minimum period of time you are required to have lived in the state before being allowed to register.  You may register as soon as you move into your new community.
    Where and how do I register to vote?

    1)  You may apply to your town or city clerk's office.  You will be required to fill out a standard voter registration form and show a verifiable proof of domicile.

    2)  You may also register with your community's Supervisors of the Checklist.  By law, the supervisors are required to meet on a day which is 6 - 13 days prior to a state election.  Check the local newspaper(s), your town's website,  or call your clerk's office for the date and time of such meeting.  If you live in a city, you may register with the Registrar of Voters at city hall.

    3)  Qualified individuals may register to vote at the polling place on election day at all elections.

    No matter when or where you register to vote, you will be required to fill out a standard voter registration form, and you will be asked to show proof of identity, age, citizenship.  These qualifications may be established by signing affidavit(s). You must also show verifiable proof of domicile.  The clerk (or supervisors) will have a guide for what you may use as evidence of domicile,  If you do NOT have proof of domicile when you appear at the clerks office to register (more than 30 days prior to any election), you will be asked to come back at a later time with proof.  If you do NOT have proof of domicile when you appear at the clerks office to register (30 days or less prior to any election) OR you appear to register at the polls you WILL be allowed to register AND to vote; however, you will be required to submit proof of your domicile to the clerk at a later date.

    Can I register absentee?
    If you meet the state's requirements and qualifications and are unable to register in person because of physical disability, religious beliefs, military service, or because of temporary absence, you may register by mail.  You should request an absentee voter registration affidavit and a standard voter registration form from your town or city clerk.  The absentee voter registration affidavit must be witnessed and then both the affidavit and the voter registration form are to be returned to your town or city clerk.
    If I attend college in New Hampshire, can I register to vote?
    Yes.  Please click here for additional information.
    When is the last day I can register before the state primary election?
    The last day to register is the day that the Supervisors of the Checklist set their meeting.   They are required to meet on a day 6-13 days prior to the primary election.  You should check with your clerk's office, the town/city website, or local newspapers for the day and time of the session..  If you miss this date, you may register to vote at the polls on primary election day (September 11, 2018) if you are qualified.
    When is the last day I can register before the state general election?

    The last day to register is the day that the Supervisors of the Checklist set their meeting.   They are required to meet on a day 6-13 days prior to the general election.  You should check with your clerk's office, the town/city website, or local newspapers for the day and time of the session..  If you miss this date, you may register to vote at the polls on primary election day (November 6, 2018) if you are qualified.

     

    Do I have to register for each election?
    No.  Once you register in a town/ward, your name will be added to the checklist for all future elections.